Speed Work, Blogging and Weekend Outlook. Plus Some Random Thoughts!

track
Track at my kids high school.

Speed Work  My son told me while we were training for Pat’s Run that if I want to get a faster time I need to incorporate speed work into my training. So I did just that! The last couple of Wednesday evenings I jogged the 1.1 miles to Eldorado HS track and on the track I was!  And I loved it.  I have had a great week of running and really looked forward to the track. I think I enjoy the break from the regular routine.  Having this day midweek really helps my mind as well. Obviously it’s too early to tell if this has helped my overall speed but I will continue with this as well as intervals.  Time will tell, in more ways than one. It was motivating to read in Run, Hare, Run! post about how she felt adding speed work has helped in her marathon training.  Not to mention it was an interesting read.  Finding this makes me feel better about reading so many different blogs.  If I can find some inspiration or new method of training I’d say it was well worth the time spent.

Small Running Companies  One of the interesting reads of the past couple of days was on the blog of The Girl Who Runs Everywhere.  She wrote today about her love or running in a running skirt and the company she purchases her attire from Skirt Sports.  Now I found it very cool to see a small company selling running attire though obviously this one is for women.  As is Oiselle.  I think it is so cool to support the smaller companies.  They have great merchandise and a wonderful enthusiasm for women who run.  Just browsing through each of these websites I feel they are true to the needs of the female runner and authentic in their support.  Obviously they are in business mainly to earn a living but I feel both these websites are very genuine in their feel of community.  But…..there is one slight problem. I am a male.  An over 50 male.  Where are the companies for me? I google male running apparel and get all the majors…..Nike, Under Armour, New Balance, ect.  The only small company I found was Newton Running.  However, I didn’t get the sense of community I felt with the two aforementioned female apparel companies.  I currently run in New Balance 880 v3s and I love them.  I wear Nike shorts cause they were the most comfortable I found locally.  However, I would so love to find a small company to support and feel that sense of community.  One that supports the everyday runner. That may sound odd.  Actually I am not sure how that sounds to be honest.  And I am not sure why I am so jealous that there are companies that give a vibe of community for the female runners and I can’t find any for men.  Your thoughts?

Weekend Outlook  Today I have a short and easy 3 mile run followed by two-day of rest in anticipation of Sunday’s 5k.  This is a local race and I don’t expect a Run for the Zoo crowd.  I am excited to see how these past two weeks of training has helped to this point.  I have run the most miles this week (24.5 after today) as any prior.  I have felt confident and strong all week. Let’s hope this extends till Sunday.  Now that I have one 5k under my belt I feel I have a better running strategy and mental mindset.  I just want to run and enjoy.  Let my body do what it will do and enjoy the moment.  Everything else will work its way into place.  Sunday won’t come soon enough.

Random Thoughts

  • I love the video of a young Natalie Merchant and Micheal Stipe (of REM) singing John Prine’s “Hello in There“.  They make a great duo….such a beautiful version of this song.
  • For breakfast I had the usual…at 6am….two eggs, two pieces of whole grain bread, glass of orange juice, water and a banana.
  • This morning I weighed 162.4 lbs.  Average for May is now down to 163.0.  Goal is 155.
  • I hate the New Mexico wind.
  • There are times I wish we weren’t at an altitude of 5500 feet.
  • If I decided to run a half marathon this year I want it to be in another state.  Perhaps the Avengers half in Disneyland.
  • When should I decide on a distance or should I?  When will I know?
  • Crazy that my daughter is done with high school.  Now the agonizing decision to either day here in Albuquerque and attend the University of NM or take all the scholarship offers she received from Oklahoma State and leave for Stillwater.

This is too long of a post.  I must go!

For now.  Shoo Run!

Till we meet again.  Good Day.
Ron

10 thoughts on “Speed Work, Blogging and Weekend Outlook. Plus Some Random Thoughts!

  1. Lizzy says:

    Thanks for the shoutout! I’m glad you found that post to be helpful.

    Have a great race this weekend! I find the 5k distance to be absolutely brutal. I just have no sense of pacing at that distance.

    Like

  2. Run Colby Run says:

    Speaking of small running apparel companies, definitely check out Janji. They are amazing. Each piece of apparel provides a year of water for an individual in need in a host of impoverished countries-Kenya, Haiti, Rwanda, India….It was founded by runners as a way to give back and combat the global water crisis. I blogged about them a while back. They’re definitely my favorite company!!!! And speed work. I love to hate it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • shooruns says:

      Oh wow! Thanks for the info on Janji. I will definitely order a couple of items from them. Nice to find a small company that has men’s stuff!!! TY so much. I did read your blog about it….so very cool. I will post when I receive my items. And good luck on the speed work! 🙂 Ron

      Like

  3. Run Colby Run says:

    Oh wonderful! I’m glad you like them!!! They’re a really wonderful company. They are doing a product launch every Wednesday and (I believe) have free shipping if over a certain amount. I’m a Janji Corps Ambassador. I should know this! Let me know what you think!!! They’re such great people in real life too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment