Half Marathon Training

Today is the end of Week One of my half marathon training.  Today, I run 5 miles.  That is the longest distance I tackle post injury.  And I am excited about reaching this distance.

chips_salsa2

Seconds before my injury.

Post injury you ask?  The picture above is from a 5k I ran on Sept 13th.  As I crossed the finish line I heard a pop. Ruptured plantar fascia.  1.5 months on crutches.  Nearly four months of no running.  So, I grabbed a gym membership and started working on core strength.  That is what I did for the ending months of 2015.  It was my first experience with gym membership and after wading through tons of info on the web I settled into a consistent weight training regime.

During my time off running I managed to go from 153 lbs to 171 lbs.  Yea me!  Ugh!  As I began running again in mid January I was very cautious as to my running future.  My goal is to reach around 150 lbs by summer.  After a few weeks of running I decided to chose a goal to reach. That goal is a half marathon on May 1st.  Run for the Zoo in Albuquerque to be exact.  That, along with a second trip to Tempe to race in Pat’s Run at Arizona State. So the goals are in place.  I will listen to my body (especially my left foot) and adjust goals if necessary. I am moving forward with cautiousness and excitement.  And most of all, I want to enjoy the journey.

So as week one ends today I find myself pleased with where I am running wise.  No reason to look back and wonder what would have been had I not been hurt.  Just look forward. Understand how blessed I am to be able to run. Period!  Many people can’t.  Most people won’t.

me35

Running at the Bosque

My goal in 2016 is to Enjoy the Journey.  Stick to my running plans and everything else will take care of itself.

It truly is that simple.  One foot in front of the other.  Enjoy.

Off to week two of half marathon training.

Till we meet again.  Shoo runs!

Good Day.

Leave a Reply

